The municipal government provided by the Charter of the City of Pharr shall be known as the Board of Commissioners – City Manager Form of Government.

The Board of Commissioners shall consist of a Mayor and six (6) Commissioners and which shall enact local legislation, adopt budgets, determine policies, and appoint the City Manager, who is held responsible to the Board of Commissioners for the execution of the laws and the administration of the government of the City.  All powers of the City shall be exercised in the manner prescribed by the City Charter, or, if the manner be not prescribed, then in such manner as may be prescribed by ordinance, the State Constitution, or by the statutes of the State of  Texas.

The Mayor and the other members of the Board of Commissioners shall be elected by the City at large for a term of four (4) years.  The Commissioners will run for places, designated as Place 1 through Place 6, and shall be elected by majority vote.

The Mayor and the several Commissioners shall be qualified electors of the City of Pharr, shall have attained the age of twenty-one (21) years; and shall have resided for at least twelve (12) months next preceding his/her election within the corporate limits of the City of Pharr, provided that if any territory shall have been legally annexed to and incorporated within the boundaries of the City of Pharr, after the effective date of the Charger, any person who shall have resided in such annexed territory for twelve (12) months next preceding such election and who posses all other qualifications for Commissioner or Mayor shall be eligible to be elected Mayor or Commissioner.

The Board of Commissioners shall appoint a City Clerk and an Assistant City Clerk each of whom shall have had a minimum of two (2) years of general office administration experience, or educational equivalent.  Each shall hold their office for a term of two (2) years unless sooner removed by the Board of Commissioners after having been allowed a fair and impartial hearing before said Board of Commissioners, if requested in writing.