The Community Development Council

The Community Development Council (CDC) plays a vital role in shaping the future of Pharr. Appointed by the City Commission, eleven dedicated residents represent each of Pharr’s seven census tracts, bringing diverse perspectives and community understanding to the table.

Through public meetings, hearings, and workshops, the CDC actively seeks citizen input. They then carefully review funding proposals from public service agencies, non-profit organizations, and even City departments to recommend an Action Plan that addresses:

  • Poverty-related needs: Providing resources and opportunities to empower residents and improve their quality of life.
  • Economic development: Supporting initiatives that create jobs, attract businesses, and strengthen the local economy.
  • Slum/blighted area elimination: Investing in projects that revitalize neighborhoods and enhance community pride.

This community-based decision-making process ensures that CDBG funds are used effectively to make a real difference in the lives of Pharr residents.


The Community Development Council is composed of eleven members, which meets the criteria guidelines of the Federal Community Development Act. Two such members shall be residents of Census Tract No. 213; two of Census Tract No 214; two of Census Tract No. 215; two of Census Tract No. 216 and two of Census Tract No. 217, and one member at large shall be a resident of the City. The current members are:

Carla Beltran 213 3 Yrs 3/19/25
Victor Alvarez 213 1 Yr 3/19/24
Olga Cardoza 214 3 Yrs 3/19/25
Lucio Gaitan 214 2 Yrs 3/19/24
Norma Treviño 215 1 Yr 3/19/24
Rene Cantu Chairman 215 2 Yrs 6/18/24
Marco Gonzalez 216 3 Yrs 3/19/25
Danny Smith 216 3 Yrs 3/19/25
Sabrina Garcia 217 2 Yrs 3/17/25
Lisa Nuñez 217 1 Yr 3/19/24
Romeo Robles Jr. Member At Large 2 Yrs 3/19/25
Appoint   Reappoint